Should I do a PhD?

N

Hi all, I am new to this and was looking for some advice regarding a possible PhD I have been offered.

Last week I went for an interview at a university for a position which would have involved oilfield research (I have an undergraduate degree and a masters degree in science). I thought the interview had gone really badly, however I got a phone call over the weekend from the university asking if I would be interested in taking up a PhD position!!!! I was a bit taken aback and have been thinking about it all weekend.

I currently work within the pharmaceutical industry, where I have been for the last two years since graduating from university. I like my job but no longer find it fulfilling and as an industry there is very limited room for progression (and a pay rise!!!!).

The money I am being offered for the PhD is a lot more than I expected (approx £15,500) and I would be about £700 worse off a year than I am now due to not paying tax etc. There would also be opportunities for me to do contract work for oil companies to bump my pay up a bit.

My initial feeling is that this would be a great opportunity to expand my knowledge and skills and gain experience in the oilfield industry. I would hopefully get quite a few contacts from the oilfield companies with whom the university work with also.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated - I think the biggest worry is whether I could do it and what kind of job I would I get when I finish. Also a bit worried about the workload, do most people find they get some evenings and some weekend to themselves?

D

I have also just been offered a PhD recently. I think it's very important to be passionate about the topic, and happy to spend a significant period of your life working on the same thing.. though, of course, as I 'm just beginning I'm not the best person to advise!

"Also a bit worried about the workload, do most people find they get some evenings and some weekend to themselves?"