Should I do a PhD?

P

Hi all,

I currently work as a church minister and I’m considering doing a PhD in Theology. I have an offer to start one this autumn at a good university, and I’m posting on here because I’d appreciate your advice on whether I’d be a good candidate for a PhD.

I have a first-class degree in Theology from Oxford University, and I really enjoy reading and researching in my subject area. My plan would be to do the programme part-time, alongside working 4 days a week at my job (I’m confident that they'd be fairly flexible, as another former staff member did a PhD part-time in the past). I could go full-time if needed (eg - to finish off the last year of the degree). One of the key benefits of my job is that I'm part of a team of pastors so the pressure isn't enormous, and there is flexibility in my role, so I could combine study with work. I love my job and could see my future in it longer-term if the academic route didn’t work out. However, recently I've also been teaching a few classes at a local Bible college, and have really enjoyed the process of writing the lectures and delivering them to students. In order to continue being an adjunct at this particular college, I wouldn’t need to get a PhD, but it would open up the door to full-time positions. I know that my main passion is teaching rather than research, although I find satisfaction in research too. I've already made a draft bibliography of 250+ books and articles which I wish to read for the PhD, and done some preliminary research which I’ve enjoyed.

So, why do I want to do a PhD?

- I want to grow intellectually and be challenged at the highest academic level.
- It would enable me to teach in a university/seminary.
- I love to read and to write, and have written shorter research articles in the past, one of which is due to be published in an academic textbook later this year.