Should I leave my PhD

F

Hi all, I am in my 2nd year of a biology PhD. I love the theory side i.e. the research I am doing but I am struggling with the experiments. So much so that I have spent the last six months coming in at weekends to try+get the experiments to work. My supervisor feels I should leave as he does not think I am suitable for a PhD. I don't want to leave as I have worked in industry before and found it boring (main reason for starting a PhD). Also I feel that given time,the experiments will work out(thou my supervisor just feels I am wasting mine and his time). Although experiments are not working out, I do not think I will fail as I have presented at lots of conferences and have received good feedback.
I am just lost as to what to do. I am afraid that I might fail my PhD if the experiments do not keep working out and that I will have wasted 3-4 years. I am afraid to talk to my supervisor about how I feel as he just keeps saying its best to leave. Has anyone else ever been in this suitaion.Thanks

M

Sounds like your supervisor is almost pushing you out. You should be questioning why he isn't being supportive and more directive with your work. If you experiments aren't working out - surely, it's his responsibility to be pointing you in the right direction?

F

Thank you for your reply. I do agree but when I ask for his help, all I get is "its not working out,is it.....I think it would be best to leave with a masters". I would love to know am I the only one whose experiments are not working out. I cant ask the other people in my lab as they are not the most approachable

U

Check my post on the other similar thread i'm posting. Your not the only one thats getting forced out by supervisors for the SOLE reason that your experiment doesnt work.