Should I submit?

D

Hi everyone, I'm five months into the third yr of my phd....history, very empirical, curzon as viceroy of India. i am planning to submit in a couple of weeks...should i? meaning to say that supervisor is ok with it, but says i wont get an outright phd, i'd be asked to make minor or major corrections, which is ok, but what if the examiners give me an MPhil? does anyone know of anyone actually being given an mphil at the viva? sup. says it would be "rather bad luck" if that happened, but the thing is examiners obviously have their own views and they might just think that they'd like to gimme an mphil. HELP! Should i put thesis in next week, or stew around for a further six months?
(i should add i am an overseas student in the uk, and fully-self funded, so am snowed under debt and also missed out on last yr's grad milkground)

M

======= Date Modified 21 Feb 2009 12:13:36 =======
Dhara, a PhD is ready to submit when you and your supervisor think it will pass. No one on the forum can really say 'yes submit' or 'no, don't', because only you and your supervisor know the standard of your work. All I would say is that submitting a PhD after 2 years and 5 mths is fairly uncommon (and if I'm not mistaken, not allowed in many universities), and you really have to ask yourself and your supervisor whether you would pass. Frankly, I find your supervisor's comments a little irresponsible with respect to saying it would be 'rather bad luck' should you end up with an MPhil.

Is the gamble worth taking after all the money you have spent on your PhD studies?

R

======= Date Modified 21 Feb 2009 12:23:14 =======