Should I switch advisors and how to do it?

S

Hi all,

I got a fully funded PhD in a very good university in the USA. My advisor who is from my country have earned quite the prestigious prizes and is getting bigger by the second. The problem that I have discovered once getting into the lab is that there is some unethical behaviour going on. Results were being "polished", authors were flipped and approaches were being overstated. Needless to say I am feeling very uncomfortable working in this environment and with someone with a lack of research ethics. The problem is that I don't know how to approach this issue and how can I switch advisors. Also, I feel that I owe the man because he supported me during my application.

Right now, I have talked with a senior lab member who is in his final year confidentially and he told me that he never saw that happening with him and advised that if I have any concern I should have a conversation with the advisor. The catch 22 is that some other lab members with whom I am close friends told me that they found their results changed to make them look like state of the art for their publications. I don't know who to trust here and I don't know what to do. Can you guys give me an advice on how to proceed?

T

I would trust your close friend's words over that senior lab person. The senior person probably depended on your supervisors to advance his career and will never admit that results were "enhanced". It would also be an admission of him being complicit in the generating fraudulent data.

If you want to change labs, never tell your supervisor. That is assuming that he was not already informed by this senior lab person. Have a look around other labs with good supervisors and no link to your supervisors. Ask confidentially as your supervisor will not take it lightly that you left him and inform him only after you have secured a supervisor

T