Social Work PHD? How do I go about this?

D

I am a social worker, and I have an idea for a piece of research. My boss thinks its a great idea, and my old tutor says its an interesting piece of research. I would want to do it over 6 years, part time, while continuing to practice social work part time. Is this possible? How do I apply? Do I apply for funding first? Does it matter that I missed a first by 2 marks, and only have a 2:1? Am I nuts for wanting to do this?

I know this is a lot of questions, but to be honest, I had never considered the possibility of doing a phd(although I had always thought I would do a masters), and now I have realised that I could research this topic, I am really buzzed about it.

G

Not entirely sure but I think there was a similar post quite recently. I'm relatively sure the answer was you're generally expected to have a masters qualification to gain entry. Someone will know, or you may like to scan back through the forum.

D

Sorry. I should have been clearer, I am hoping to enroll on MPhil Program, which should take me to the point of doing phd.

J

If you're working, you may be able to self-fund (in the sciences, typical part-time fees are around 700quid per year; might be less for you). Or, since your boss is excited by the idea, maybe he/she would be prepared to sponsor you? This is quite common in other fields; not sure how common it is in social work but it seems a good idea - you get funded for your research, and your boss gets a highly qualified memner of staff (and kudos for supporting the employees).

Your grade should not matter at all in the above two cases. Even if you applied to a council for funding, a 2.1 is acceptable. Good luck. My advise would be first to ask your boss to consider sponsoring you.

J

"Advice", I meant, not "advise".

J