Starting a new journal and looking for contributors

P

Hi, I am a disgruntled Phd student whose thesis is deemed a bit too 'controversial', 'challenging' and 'non-traditional' for mainstream journal publication. I have zero interest in modifying any of it in order to have it published and after months of job searching I dont think this would help anyway (my research is extremely critical of the powers that be in my field). So myself and a friend, who is in a similar situation, have decided to set up a free online journal that publishes theses and articles that challenge modern academic research publishing norms. My question is do people think it is a bit hair brained to cut my losses with traditional academic research and the university system and does anyone think this is a something they could benefit from?

I'm not sure this is the right place to ask... remember "No prophet is accepted in his own land"...
Academia is pretty conservative, and that sounds mildly revolutionary :)

Sounds fun though. Go for it.

BTW what is your disgruntling field?

P

Indeed! I just thought I would throw it out there to see what the reaction would be.My field is sociology of education - focusing on international development. Since the get go there has been lots of opposition to it - seems like it upsets quite a few of those who hold the purse strings. I don't want my research to be in vain and I'm pretty sure there are many others out there who are facing an uphill struggle to publish their research and have it make an impact. Mine has got quite a bit of attention in the media but traditional academia runs a mile from it. Fortunately my supervisor has been great but the constant journal rejection is a bit overwhelming...especially considering the revisions generally suggested!

I take it the revisions are usually diametrically opposed to your original thesis?!

P

pretty much....kind of along the lines of 'that's a bit incendiary'

Will yours be peer-reviewed?

P