starting a new phd ? need advices

H

Hi everybody,
I'm currently in my second year as a phd in neurobiology but I lost all motivation for this thesis. I have a master degree in cognitive neuroscience and at that time I choose to start a phd in neurobiology because I wanted to go deeper in the comprehension of brain mecanisms. But now I'm totaly regretting it and I wish I had choose cognitive neuroscience, i'm not interested to work with cells or animals anymore. Plus the situation in my lab isn't really easy : i'm alone with my subject, the atmosphere is not really nice and I don't have anybody to talk to in order to get advices. So i'm wondering if it would be possible to stop my phd even after 2 years (will people take me seriously ?) and start a new one in my field of interest or should I rather be strong and graduate here even if it's totally depressing me ?In that case would it be possible/not to hard to switch field for the post doc ?
If someone have an opinion that would be really nice !

D

The aim of a PhD is to give you the opportunity to develop your skills as a researcher. It is supposed to be completed over a period of three to four years. It is not worth to spend more time of your life on such a task. I wouldn't drop out after two years, I would put all my efforts in finishing on time; that means working hard and methodically towards a coherent Phd. If you think you can't do it, my best advice would be to move on to something that brings fulfillement. PhDs can provoke extreme stress and depression. I don't think that the topic of your PhD will influence your post doc options, but the quality of your PhD might. Research is multidisciplinary, so you might find yourself in a completely new field.

After a year and a half, my postdoctoral experience is not that different from a PhD - I am not sure if this is a good thing?

T

Hi, Hella,