Starting at 38

G

I will be starting my PhD next year. By that time I will be 38 years old. This means I might finish when I am 42. Is that too late? Will I be able to pursue an academic/research career after I finish? Moreover, will other students find it funny?
(I have several years of experience in Info Tech.)
Thanks
Me

G

Dear Starter, I can comprehend your feeling as I'm 34 years old and, after 7 years working experience in dairy field, I would like to start PhD studies too. An Irish Postdoc told me that, even I'm a little older than many of the students applying for postgraduates studie, I have the experience often lacking in them. Knowing how to plan, perform, realize and publish research projects is a great advantages on my side that younger workers don't have. So feel confident you will get the goal.

G

Firstly you do have time to have a decent academic career. More importantly you want to do a Ph.D so just go for it. I (at 23) think it is pretty brave and would admire someone for doing what you are doing. Certainly not funny, just go and do it (and enjoy it!)

G

If your not too concerned about the finanical side of things and are looking to do a PhD in order to break into academia, don't worry about the age thing right now. However, I would look at what the main funding bodies for your field have to say, as you don't want to reach the end of your degree and find out that post-docs are not available for those over 40. Other side of things, get your PhD and move back into IT in consulting etc

G

Don't worry about it! we have an older post-doc who has only just started and he is way older than 42!!

G

don't worry about it!!!! In fact u are normal... i am 22 and am the youngest in my group cos i didn't do masters...it feels strange but u will be fine.

G