Stats Help

M

I am looking for a stats "guru" who can hopefully give me some advice. As a complete novice as far as stas is concerned I am not sure what the best approach to take to analyse my data.

I have a large number of X-Y graphs (amplitude vs Frequency) that i am looking to investigate the correlation between.
The data sets I am looking to compare are two sets of Y values (using the same Y range) (hope this makes sense). I have seen a similar study that used a Z score for the comparison but from what I have read this works best when comparing large data sets (>100 sets of data). As I have only two sets and am just looking at a point by point correlation between them can some one point me in the right direction please.

I have looked at using Graph pad and excel which both have a correlation function built in but not really knowing what the function is doing (the help file assumes you know which type of analysis you require) I am a bit unsure what the results mean.
Hopefully some one can shed some light on this for me.
Thanks in advance
Max

W

Okay, firstly, I'm not a stats guru. You want to compare the data sets to see if there's any association between them? If the data is interval or ratio, you could use Pearson's correlation co-efficient. If the data is ordinal (I know I'm speaking like a social scientist), then you could use the Spearman Rank correlation co-efficient. I've never used Excel, but you can find step by step instructions on how to do it on the internet.
You'll find the correlation co-efficient has a value of between -1 (perfect negative association) to 0 (absolutely no association) to 1 (perfect positive association). You'll have a p-value which will tell you whether the association is 'significant' or not, bearing in mind causality. Is that what you're after? Is there anyway you can post your analysis results on this thread so that someone can have a gander at it?

M