Staying at same institution - a mistake?

T

I am a mature student, currently halfway through my research training MSc. I did my UG degree (graduated last year) at the same uni I'm doing my MSc at, and I'm also currently applying to do a PhD here.

I have several reasons for wanting to stay here: my husband has a job here (he has been trying to get another job elsewhere so that we can move, but no luck), the department is small, very supportive, and enthusiastic about my future, and I want to be part of the development of the department, which my research will help to encourage (or so I and my adviser/mentor hope).

I've just applied for institutional funding, AHRC block funding etc, and am waiting to hear. If nothing comes of the funding I will be applying elsewhere, even if it means having a long-distance marriage, which isn't ideal. Staying here is definitely my first choice.

My question (finally!) is: Will it be a bad thing for my future as an academic if all my degrees have come from one institution? Does it really matter that much? My "ideal" plan would be to do the PhD here, maybe stay on and teach, if the opportunity arises, for another couple of years, and then seek employment elsewhere. Would having my BSc, MSc and PhD from the same uni make me less employable as a lecturer/researcher?

Sorry for the long message. Hope this isn't a completely daft question...

S

i have heard rumours that it is 'frowned upon' to do all your degrees at the same institution - however i have never seen any actual proof of this! i say go where you will be happiest, a phd is a long slog and if you have found a project you want to do and a good supervisor to do it with then just go for it regardless. in some ways, staying at the same institution should be seen as a plus point (in my personal opinion anyway!) as it shows that you have developed and maintained good, strong professional relationships with your research group.