Still Unlucky :(

I

Hey guys,
Hope you're having a good Christmas/Holiday season. Unfortunately, and after applying for at least 20 jobs over the past month, I have yet to be called for a job interview let alone get a job offer. It's the first time I find myself in such a position- after I finished my Masters I found a job in a couple of months. Now that I have a PhD and my CV is far more impressive I can't find a job either in the UK or North America (where I'm currently based :(:( ). Is this normal? My PhD is in Economics, so I would like to think it's a useful degree. Appreciate any advice/comments/support.

H

Are you just applying for academic jobs, or non academic ones as well?

I

Quote From HazyJane:
Are you just applying for academic jobs, or non academic ones as well?

Both- applying for postdocs, working on publications on the side, teaching part-time until end Jan, and applying for jobs at private-sector companies and think-tanks.

L

Hi Incognito,
Was hoping you'd have some luck with getting a job :(.
I'm still stinging from a polite rejection from a PhD position just yesterday. I had sent it with a tailor-made proposal for the department to extend their work. I mentioned their staff and cited their papers in it. But no.
So I don't suppose I have any advice...just support :). Keep at it! Something's got to work out.

What really ticks me off is employer attitude these days, because I've been on the other side of the table. During our Master's studies, two of my friends and I set-up a reasonably successful technology start-up. We read and replied to nearly every application during our hiring process (I know the rate...6 hours gets you through 71 applicants!) - with minimal pay, and Master's theses to complete!
These days, well-paid fully staffed HR departments are unwilling to even look at applications, and prefer to put up barriers against people applying. It's a real shame!