Structure of Supervision

R

Hi All,

This topic has just come up in a recent thread I started.

I wondered whether anybody would mind sharing the structure of their supervision with their supervisor/s? The supervision I receive is structured as follows:

a) Electronically forward any completed work since the previous supervision meeting
b) Attend face to face meeting on a monthly basis (I am a part time student) where I briefly discuss any areas I deem as significant and get their thoughts on it
c) I describe what I intend to produce in time for next month's meeting
d) Repeat steps above

I suppose my intentions of this thread is to try and get as much out of supervisors as possible! ,-)

Cheers!

S

Hello

I'm a full-time student so a little different, but I have weekly meetings (sometimes less often though, depending on availability and where I was at with the work tasks), and email in between as needed. Written drafts were produced by the next meeting, which was either in a week's time or arranged at a time that was suitable if a week was too soon/too far ahead.

The meetings were mainly me going over where i was at, giving update on tasks and saying what i was working and doing at the time, and what we would have for the next meeting. Also prioritised questions and asked anything that i needed answers on to progress.

In hindsight, to get more out of this process i probably would have done agendas more formally and rigidly - ie just made the whole thing more formalised, and really pinpointed timelines for tasks rather than just working on them as much as possible as quickly as possible. I hope that makes sense.

Very interested to hear about other experiences in relation to this, I've wondered about the same thing, as supervision seems to be an individual thing and as a student you don't really get to see or hear other's experiences to compare your own and know if yours is 'normal' or not. I probably should have asked more about it with other students!

A