Struggling to stay sane

S

Well having often read with great interest the experiences of other PhD students on this forum, I have finally decided to type down my own experience. I am now in my third year of what was supposed to be originally a 3 year PhD but due to numerous problems this has now turned into four years. I have spent months trying to secure funding for this extra year consequently I have had very little time or opportunity to learn and develop valuable lab skills. I feel I am completely useless and this has just really worn me down. I came within weeks from watching my project and me completely collapse. I have no motivation left any more. While my PhD topic is quiet interesting, I feel like I can't take it any more. My PhD project is based primarily on me scrutinising large databases from various sources but none of the other parties are now willing to give me these databases. Between red tape delays and complete lack of cooperation from third parties, I really feel completely mentally exhausted. I struggle every day to stay motivated, experiencing brief periods of calmness followed quickly by extended periods of manic depression. Ironically I am frequently asked to speak to other undergrads about motivation because of my perceived enthusiastic attitude. Nobody knows I feel this way as there is no one around I can talk too. I can't crack as I am perceived as the rock. I am the only researcher working in my field in my lab and spend all day working alone. There are no technicians or postdocs in my lab so I am left to do everything myself. I have to teach myself everything and have ended up completely supervising my own project. My supervisor is not familiar with my project area at all and while she is a lovely woman she is an absolutely useless supervisor. She has given me no constructive guidance what so ever largely as she does not understand what I am doing. In fact she has not even asked me to deliver one presentation since beginning my project,