Studying at the same university - bad move?

K

Hi all,

I don't usually use forums so this is a bit scary! I've recently started an MA and would like to do a PhD at some point in the future (probably sooner rather than later). I'm doing my MA at the university where I did my undergraduate degree which I completed this summer.

I'm just exploring possibilities at the moment but wanted to have some opinions on studying at the same university for BA, MA and PhD. Is that a wise move or does it look really bad? I know that I don't want to study too far from where I am living now, and my university does have research interests in the area I'd be exploring. My tutor is also a living legend who knows me and challenges me with my work and the thought of having a new supervisor whom I don't know sounds a bit risky. However, part of me thinks it would look really bad to any potential employers if I have three degrees from the same institution.

Any advice?

I know someone who has done this. The advantages are that you don't spend the 1st 6 months of PhD getting 'set up' i.e accomodation, office space, new emails etc etc. and you know the staff and admin people probably already. Disadvantages would be after the PhD, especially if you want to move out of academia, might look a bit contricting on your CV but as with most things you can just explain it well in your interview. I had a friend who bummed around travelling for 6 years and manages to get jobs (have no idea how!)

P

is Stressed around? She can help and I think she shall have a very positive account to provide to you :)

I am doing my phd in the same place as MSc....and its lovely!

R