Submitted incomplete PhD thesis

H

Hello everyone.

This is my first time here. I really need some advice and help.

I just submitted an incomplete PhD thesis. Meaning I submitted an introduction, 3 good chapters, a 4th very bad draft chapter and no conclusion. I just did not have the time. I did not sleep during the last 48 hours before submission. I submitted for the University of London. I have suffered from clinical depression and anxiety and in the past this has slowed me down in my work. And I have had an extension based on that. However I still failed to complete the thesis on time.

However I know I can do it if they give me some more time and another chance. I'm in a better place in my life. I just don't want a fail and an Mphil. I wouldn't mind a Not Pass with option to resubmit.

What are my chances of a re-submission (referral)?
Would they pull off the viva before it happens? If they do, what does that mean?
Anything I can do or tell them to argue my case or defend myself at the viva?

Please I would appreciate any advice. And don't worry about my feelings. Brutally honest is welcomed.

P

Hey

Sounds familiar.

Due to my studentship requirements, I was forced to submit an overly long incomplete thesis. I similarly ran out of time. Five months later I was given a viva date. Two weeks before the viva, my external examiner cancelled the viva due to an overly long thesis. This led to a frantic search for a new external examiner. A month later, I sat my viva with new examiners and they awarded a resubmission for a PhD (and were very positive). After a year of working on my resubmission, I resubmitted my PhD thesis on time, then was faced with a five month wait for a decision on my corrected reduced draft. Awarded minor corrections, completed minor corrections within three months and graduated in July 2013.