Supervisor pushing me too far

P

Hi, I was just wondering if you lovely people could provide me with a bit of advice...I've been doing my PhD for a few months and to be honest it has been a nightmare from day 1. I was prepared to work hard but my supervisor is expecting me to work a 60+ hour week and wants results as soon as possible. He has threatened me with being thrown out and says that i'm not committed enough even though i have no life anymore, don't see my friends or family anymore and quite frankly have no quality of life whatsoever. Also, he doesn't really believe in allowing me time to read to inform my research. I really don't know what to do :-(.

O

It may not be what you expect in terms of advise, but I suggest the following: be happy about it. Being pushed is a very good thing in a PhD, it will make it more likely that you complete the thing.

If, however, your physical health starts suffering from the psychological stress, make sure you take enough breaks and be assertive about them in front of your supervisor. you are entitled to a number of breaks per year, make sure you take them.

And by the way, your supervisor can not throw you out of the programme, unless you miss the milestones specified by your university or the overall registration period.

B

I know the type.

Well you can do two things

a) put up with it and accept it as the price of working with the man and not making any waves.

b) call a meeting and negotiate what an appropriate workload would look like. You can ask other people in the department other students to get a good idea. If you think it will be too much for you alone, ask if you can bring a co-supervisor or tutor along to it.

P

i may be wrong but i dont think its possible to keep those sort of hours up for 3 years plus. i had same situation with my sup but at the end of the day i think lifes too short to stop living for three years.

H