Supervisor won't let me finish!!

M

======= Date Modified 20 54 2010 04:54:10 =======
Hi, need some advice about my current situation.

I get the impression that my supervisor is not keen for me to leave the uni and he is making it very difficult for me to finish.

I have been writing full time for the past 7 months and very close to having my thesis in shape for submission. I had originally aimed to submit by August but my supervisor keeps adding things on to my list of things to do. Just recently he has decided that I should do another experiment/chapter to add to thesis. I'm not so keen on the chapter because its not directly related to my project and it involves using a machine which has been broken all year! All year I have had huge distractions as I have been expected to fill an RA role- teach new students and a new academic methods, locations of lab equipment ordering etc.

He suggestion today was that I also should publish one more chapter before I submit the thesis but I really don't think this is possible within a short timeframe. He is incredibly pedantic and difficult to write with, the last publication I wrote had to go through 40 drafts over 1 year, going back & forth before he was happy!! Not necessary just improvements but a lot of the changes were results/ literature he decided to put it, take out, put back in, reanalyse, do more labwork etc. I have 3 other supervisors who were happy with it after first draft.

I should mention that other post-docs and students have had the sameproblems. Some have had to work for months without pay, trying tofinish. Other students have quit, sick of the stress and difficulties.