switching from quantitative to qualitative research methodology

M

i have been developing a research proposal for my thesis for the past 3 months and when i thought it was ready for higher degrees committee i was assighend a co-supervisor who thought a quantitative approach was a bad idea and peoposed i do it using a qualitative methodology since this is her area of expertise. the principal supervisor seems to fall for it ( in what i presume is protecting her fellow) and i am dying here.
how do i convince them that i still have to employ my original approach. i love working with figures and going the qwualitative road will be a torturing experience. would opposing my supervisors a tocket to failing to graduate in time. i fear that they may adopt me in the department.

J

Hey there

Obviously this is a subjective situation and it is hard to know without being familiar with your research whether you are getting good advice and being stubborn or being railroaded into a direction you are unhappy with... So, with that caveat I would say:

This research is your project and being assertive and confident making decisions regarding the methodology is part of getting a good PhD. If you think/know this is the best way then write out why and write why you want to discard the qual approach and present/send it to your sups.

J

Also bear in mind that doing a PhD is part of training to be a researcher and as such there may be a time in the future when you need to adopt a qual methodology. Flexibility is a good trait so don't run away from a form of analysis that you don't think will suit you. Be pragmatic about it. Also, 'qual' is a huge umbrella term for many forms of data collection and analysis - there may be a compromise in it somewhere for you.