Teaching Assistant Terror!

P

My background is in medieval english but as part of a big mainly language project I was given the chance to do a PhD but in Art History. I am nearly a year in and everything is going OK with my own research but I am due to start as a teaching assistant next semester. However because I am now based in Art History I will be teaching this subject. I have just been sent a couple of outlines of lectures for the course but it is stuff I have never studied, not having an art history background. In fact half of it I'm not even sure what it is about. How am I ever going to take two-hour seminars with undergraduates! Has anybody else experience of having to teach the unknown? Should I say I can't do it. I know if I was teaching any of the courses in the English department I would feel confident in my knowledge and I think I should really at least have some idea of what the art history course is about before teaching it. Help!

J

lol. when i was in my first year - i lost a whole semester teaching this subject that i had no clue about. i had to learn it to teach it. it was horrible. soon the students found me out and i had assessors sitting my class. it is amongst the hardest times in my life. ever since i decided never to teach any remotely difficult subject - even in my area. the trauma is not worth it. that said, i learnt a lot. but am sure there are easier and better ways to learn. in the end, i quit with about two weeks remaining to the end of term. i couln't take it anymore. caught a flight and went on a month's holiday to recover. never again. am glad i can laugh about it now. at the time i even lost weight worrying about the damn teaching.

if i were you i wouldn't.

good luck in your decision.

R

Read through the prescribed or recommended texts in the subject/course and then hope to god that you don't get any smartass know-it-all students in your class who will try to interject during your lecture to try and show you up.