Teaching class but look very young!

R

Hi all

I'm just finishing the first year of my Ph.D, and i'm thinking it'd be good to get some teaching experience. There are positions going for next year and im thinking of sending my CV - however i'm feeling kind of inhibited by the fact i look really young.

I'm 24, and im constantly being told how young i look, ppl being surprised im doing a phd etc - and when i say young im talking being mistaken for anywhere between 18-21.

So, i'm not sure how i'm going to take a class where most of the students in it will be looking older than me!

Usually it doesn't bother me, but, in a teaching situation, surely one must have to look older than the students in order to be the 'authority figure'?!

:-s

S

I wouldn't worry about it - as long as you come across as being confident about your subject, I don't think it will be an issue. The students will probably enjoy the fact that they're being taught by someone only a few years older than them, rather than having to put up with another doting old professor! I've thought about this before when tutoring mature students, who are much closer to my parents' age than to mine. However, they've always been quite happy (and I guess used to) someone who could pass for their daughter or even grandaughter teaching them. As long as you know what you're talking about, I'm sure you'll be fine!!

H

I share your problem. I'm older than you and I still get mistaken for a teenager. If people think I'm an undergrad I feel like it's an improvement!