Teaching hours as GTA - query

M

Dear all,

I'm a UK PhD student at a southern university on a GTA scheme.

In my 'agreement', it is stated that we must undertake no more than X hours of teaching per week.

Before I take this up with my university, how many hours of teaching would you consider the following as?

* Officially teaching a three hour seminar, but been told that attendance at the preceding lecture (3 hours) is compulsory so that I have context for the seminar.

Many thanks.

T

Sounds like 6 hours to me.

As in any job, I would be careful about rocking the boat unless you really need to though ie if it's interfering with your studies. Remember you probably need to be on good terms with your university/supervisors for references/collaborations.

Additionally, they have probably deliberately left this ambiguous so it will be difficult for you to argue that it's actually 6 hours not 3.

At my uni, we get paid for 3 hours per teaching session. If it goes on for 2 hours, we still get paid for 3. Obviously if it runs over, we still only get paid for 3.

M

Here's the issue... if it counts as 3 hours, I am 2 hours over my required teaching, which means I'll be obligated to do 2 hours LESS next term.

If it counts as 6 hours, I'm of course 5 hours over my required teaching, requiring me to do ONE hour next term.

I think it should count, the lecture. They are dictating my free time. If I HAVE to be in the room, it is surely eating into my 'work time' for the university?

Edit: It's an 'average' of X hours across the year, so one term can be higher, so long as the next is lower.

T

I think you're right but I'm guessing the university are only going to agree if it's to their advantage or if they are feeling extra nice that day.