teaching prep - what to charge?

O

Hi
I'm a second year PhD student. Recently I did some hourly paid teaching of undergraduates at one of my old universities to cover a couple of lectures and seminars for my old tutor who has taken up a new job at short notice.
I know the hourly rate the university pays for teaching face-to-face time. But they also say they're willing to pay for some prep time as well. Thing is, I don't know how much prep time to claim for.

Because it was my first time teaching at university level, I took a really long time to prepare for each lecture and seminar. Total lecture and seminar time on each occasion was 3 hours in all, yet to prepare for both altogether I took probably 1.5 or 2 days. This is absurdly long, especially as with the lecture I already had the skeleton from someone else's slides. But when I start something I get a bit too thorough. So given that I'm not going to claim for 12 or more hours' prep time for 3 hours' face time, how much prep time to charge for?

My friend who works for another university says that they pay for 2 hours' prep for each hour teaching.

What do others think?

Thanks!
(up):$(up)

C

Hi. some Universities pay-- some do not as they argue it is with the teaching rate paid. Others pay same as teaching rate which is better as I agree, prep takes a long time even for an experienced lecturer. Your hourly rate also varies re your grade and experience. You really need a contract specifying rates etc. Also- sessions if you are just covering, should be already fully prepared but I know you always have additional prep to do-- which is not usually paid for or acknowledged.

T

I'm exactly the same - always take ages to prepare teaching!