TEFL qualification- good for the CV?

S

Hi everyone, I was wondering if anyone had done a TEFL course? I'm desperately trying to increase my teaching experience but find it impossible to find work without any qualification and/or loads of experience. Would teaching english as a foreign language be a good thing to put on my CV for university teaching posts? Or will I just waste time and money?
Any advice gratefully received!

S

I have TEFL and 4 yrs teaching experience. Wouldn't do TEFL just to get university teaching - I really doubt it would be that helpful. But I have used it to actually earn some money (not a lot though, I warn you), for example, while waiting for funding between MPhil and PhD. TEFL cert is quite a light weight taching qualification and if you stay in the profession seriously people do the TEFL dip or masters. The teaching experience has been very helpful to me when teaching undergrads - but unfortunately, teaching experience doesn't seem to be a high priority in recruitment.

S

Thanks Smilodon! I admit the prospect of earning some money and having something to fall back on during the dreaded (and looming!) post-submission phase is tempting.

I agree that teaching experience isnt a very high priority - but we do seem to need it all. Papers, teaching experience, conference presentationa, collaboration and brilliant ideas of what research to do next. All on top of the thesis!

Good luck, and thanks again

S

I used it overseas - that's fun if you find yourself with a few months to kill.

T

I have a TEFL certificate too. It is useful for TEFL jobs but if you are looking for other teaching jobs then just experience is probably better than a cert with no experience. Of course, a TEFL cert will also help you get TEFL teaching experience...

If you are looking for just a few months of TEFL work though it might be a bit expensive especially as in some countries, it is pretty easy to pick up work without it. Not well paid work though.

S