The CSI Effect- Forensic PhDs Help!

L

I am a current Forensic and Analytical Science student predicted a 1st class degree and have a years experience in industry under my belt. I'm looking to do a PhD on graduation in 2012. However, in the field I am most interested in I am being asked to do a MSc first. I'm assuming this is due to the immense competition for funded places. The problem is, what with the reductions in university funding etc, a MSc is looking to cost me £9000 in just fees (which I cannot afford) and even after this there is no guarantee of securing a funded PhD position.
Is anyone else in the same boat or can anyone offer me any advice?
Thanks
Lorna

B

Hi Lorna, think we are quite similar as I graduated with a First class honours in Forensic and analytical science last year :) with one year industry under my belt too.. maybe we're at the same uni lol :). Im now doing a PhD but it is not forensic related, and i love it!! Are you looking for a PhD forensic related?? if the prospect uni has suggested u do a MSc i would consider it. But with the fees increasing it is very tough to self fund a master with no guarantee of securing a PhD, it is probably worth you gaining some work experience in the forensic sector to gain some experience and some contacts and possibly work first and then do a PhD later on. Or you could contact your current tutors and see if they got any links to other academics and other PhD opportunities. Hope this helps.

L