Theoretical Background

G

Hi to you all!!!
I just found the place and really loved the discussions which I have followed till now.
I have a question, quite basic one, but although to some of you might seem easy I can't get throught to it.
First of all, I am a PhD student in Germany. I have already started writting and recently completed all the theoretical part meaning (Introduction,Key concepts analysis, data, methodology, geographic region of the analysis etc etc). I asked from my Prof. to read it and submit comments on it. What I faced was a complete disaster. Her comments were really insulting only to one part of my thesis.

She asks: Where is your Theoretical Background?

So my question is What is theoretical background?

When I was in London, doing my Master Thesis, I had a Prof saying that, don't write theories I know that you will probably copy-paste them from somewhere. What I am interesting in is Literature review. So during my PhD I have focus on Literature review. But now I have a theoretical background problem.

Can somebody help me? Isnt' the same when you say that e.g. this guy in his study did that (literature review) and found that - with- this has an effect on that (XXXX, 1989)

A friend suggested that the first is literature review while the second is theoretical background.

What I am analysis in housing prices and demographic variables.
So any help on what is the theoretical background to that?

Any help will be much appreciated.

George

P

Hi there

There are many discussions available on what a theoretical framework is but I think a simple way to think about it is - (a) a framework of theories and concepts which you apply to the empirical material generated in your research, to retain, revise or reject (!) it. i.e. the same empirical material might potentially be interpreted/approached from a range of theoretical frameworks.