Theoretical Framework

P

hello all,

around when can one expect to have a firm idea of one's theoretical/conceptual framework?

Also, how many scholars can one usually comfortably juggle with in this?

(Written in full awareness of the very subjective nature of the issue!)

Very, very good question bug. I await responses with deep anticipation.

P

hehe Okay so now two souls in eager anticipation of enlightenment from colleagues who've just managed to get their frameworks in place!

L

Now there is a hard question. Ok Im in third year and Id say by the end of second year I had a good idea of the theory I wanted to keep and the theory I wanted to discard. It really depends on the type of thesis you are doing. Those who are critiquing what came before them and building up a literature review in that respect should probably be advised that it will change and shift depending on the scope creep of your thesis. Those who are going out into uncharted waters with more multidisciplinary approaches have a harder time in my opinon because they have to deal with rival theory not only in one subject area but quite normally in 3 or 4. So I would say expect a little bit longer if you are multidisciplinary.

To make the whole thing cohesive is the hard part, you have to be pretty ruthless and almost write a disclaimer in your introductory chapter with the theory you will and will not be mentioning. I find a nod toward it is more than appropriate and a reason for its place (or lack of) in your thesis.
Its a real process though and in my opinion in the humanites you only really get a hold on your paper toward the end of second year. Certainly people talk about writing up and doing this and that in their first year, its not a bad idea to start writing early but be prepared to heavily edit and keep very little of it because your points and focus may have shifted away from that position.