Thinking about changing university after a few months of studying

E

Hello, I'm a PhD student in UK starting on 1st October 2021.
It's just 2 months of my PhD life. I accepted the offer without carefully considering if I suit to the university and my supervisor or not.
Consequently, we didn't have meaningful meetings since he is very new to the field. My current progress is still like the first week I was starting the PhD. The research group I was assigned doesn't relevant to my field. In the meetings, I'm the only one that knows nothing about what they are doing. I tried finding people in this field in the uni but I found none. I am worrying it would not be good for the rest of 3-4 years if I stay here.
Therefore, I'm getting very stressed and anxious now.
I'm also looking for a lab in another university that really suits my field, but I don't know if it's too early to give up here.
Any suggestion for my situation?

Hi eliteape,

Two months is very early to judge and the grass isn't always greener elsewhere. I can sympathise with you, as no-one at my university has any experience in my area, not even my supervisor really. My research group is for bioenergy but I am the only one using biomass while everyone else is wind, batteries and hydrogen, so they are not that helpful. However, I have nearly finished my PhD with several publications, after effectively teaching myself everything.

My advice, is find a relevant paper that you think you can replicate and do it. It doesn't matter if what you did is novel because once you have a method that you think works, you can iterate from it with confidence. Taking baby steps with regards to methodology is a lot easier than big leaps when you don't have much lab support. As when you start doing some experiments you learn what parts are easy or difficult which enables you to design better experiments.