To note or not to note!!

R

Hi Im in my third year of my Doc and have a full on full time career and am single dad with two young kids - ok, not looking for oohs and and ahs or sympathy, my choice to do doc and career etc - but time is critical for me. I've read with interest the comments and discussion about reading and/or writing at the same time, but would really like to have some idea of what and how people write their notes in the word doc. For my Masters, I read and wrote as I went, but this is a different level, you may only grab one small pearl from a lengthy journal, so do you write that and save it or do you do a running log of say chunks of your lit review. I've tried moleskins, note books, endnote etc, but like most I seem to forget what I write, can't find again what I wrote/read or get distracted by a citation and read something completely different from what Im researching, (sound familiar?)

I am happy to be referred to any good books (particularly in the Janet and John range - Ok Showing my age now) that cover this thorny and well discussed issue in simplistic and dare I say non-academic jargon - that I can do myself !! Thanks :-)

N

well , regarding reading and forgetting what u read or where u read !
This happens to me alot !
I use Copernic Desktop search , that can search through contents of files for the exact word ..
It has helped me .. It is available on net , will consume some space for its indexing though ...
About writing , I am writing mine after doing all the work and experimentation..
Only after that you are quiet sure about how you will present you work !
How do u manage with 2 kids ?
its difficult for me with only one :>

S

Hi Robbie