TRYING TO HAVE A LIFE WHILE DOING A PHD!

N

hey guys,

I was wondering...AM I THE ONLY PHD STUDENT WHO'S HAVING A HARD TIME TRYING TO HAVE A LIFE OUTSIDE PHD?

I'm asking because, two days ago (saturday), I decided I HAVE to try to get away from the lab(I'm a science phd student). so I went to a gig. I had only one mojito, and I was already tipsy...I only went home at 3am(which by the way is not late at all compared to when I was an undergrad), but since I had to work the next morning, I only had 3 hours of sleep(again...I used to do this all the time and nothing happened...I just cruised through the day....but YESTERDAY)...I was sooooo exhausted, and on top of that since I'm tutoring on monday and meeting my PI, I had to finish an experiment, so I WAS A ZOMBIE THE WHOLE OF SUNDAY! coffee makes me nauseous so that didnt help at all!

I really want to know how you guys cope. tell me how you have other activities and still stay on top of your game...let the thread grow...

A

Hi There, well, i often wondered the same thing. But now that you mention it i think most of us if not all are in the same boat. Life?! what life lol... i used to stay in the labs till late hours, i'm writing now which is proving to be just the same (no life!!). We will just have to make up for it once we finish :p

I think that's not just because of PhD, but getting older :-( my hubs is a lot more exhausted than me from his 9-5 job, AND I work all weekend and into the evening, whereas he becomes KRATOS - a greek demi god who is determined to kill zeuss and all the titans (its a ps3 game that's taken over his life).

S

Hi Nalie