Tutor hinders, steals and ridicules.

K

I've been working on my PhD for the past 8 months and can't get the hang of my tutor. i actually had to fight her to be "allowed" to do analyses I thought would be interesting (they were, confirmed by tutor no 2 who lives out of town!), got an idea which she literally stole (got witnesses) and am in general being bossed around and ridiculed. I tried telling her both diplomatically and bluntly, but she's got some kind of armour and seems completely unaffected. Talked to the head of dept. who agreed with me too but no change has happened. HEEEEEEEEEEELP!

S

tutor? as in your supervisor? i dont understand whats going on
can't you request a change of supervisor
and for future, try to handle supervisor's more tactfully, i know u might be genuinely upset, but fighting will only harm you...

get another supervisor ASAP. It sound like you're onto a looser. It's good that the HOD is helping, maybe they can find someone.

J

try not to make an enemy of your supervisor, they probably have a lot to do and you need to treat them gently sometimes. supervisors are human too - or so I am told! They may not have understood what you wanted to do but got a bit upset themselves by your attitude. I'm not condoning what they did by the way, but try to look at it from their point of view too. Don't get too eager to tell tales on them, it may well get back to them and whatever you may think of them now, you amy need them later. You don't say what your area is, and that can make a difference but try to work with them rather than against them, its difficult I know when you have problems, but may be for the best in the long run.

S