UK Scholarships to study in Australia

M

I recently contacted a professor at an Australian university about PhD study. He said he would be happy for me to join his group however scholarships in Australia are very competitive and often given to those who have already published research. I'm a final year MSci student and I am on track for a first but does anyone know of any UK based scholarships I could use to fund or part fund my study over there?

T

Hi, Muchalnia,

I am not sure about UK scholarships for Australia study, but you could ask to be put forward for the next Australian scholarships round. Contact the Admissions and Scholarships department for more info. Start only after you have the outcome of the scholarship. Look at JASON database too for scholarship information. Unless you are wealthy, do not accept doing a PhD without living allowance.

Also, do consider that unlike UK, there are far less international conferences in Australia. You will not be able to hop on a train to another Uk city or take a short flight to Europe for conferences or lab visits. If you think that living scholarships in Australia are very competitive, think about the competition for travel grants to go abroad. You do need lots of exposure and networking during your PhD for a successful career later. Where do you most likely want to work after your PhD? The research job market in Australia is much smaller than UK and Europe too. The current NHMRC funding in Australia has a success rate of 13%. Not sure how the rate will be when you graduate and want to apply for fellowship or project grants. Do take all these into consideration in your decision.

D

Quote From tru: