Unemployed, no idea what I want to do anymore :(

M

I did a part-time PhD and finished it in 2007. I did a postdoc for two years after that but always knew I never really liked or fitted research and left to start training as a scientist in the NHS. The problem was I went for that as it seemed like the only other reasonable thing I could do, as I had worked in that field for three years before I did the PhD. I don't think I ever really wanted to do it and inevitably quit after 6 months as I didn't like it. I also had to relocate and do another part-time degree for it which was the straw that broke the camel's back.

I realised then that I no longer wanted to be a scientist in any shape or form, but had no idea of what I did want to do. I was unemployed for 6 months but eventually managed to get a 9-month community sector position through volunteering. I quite enjoyed that but now it has come to an end and I can not find another job.

I'm loathe to apply for scientific jobs because I know fine well I am not interested in them, but everyone (including the job centre) takes one look at my work history and is determined to send me down that path. That said, there are very few science jobs out there anyway. Community jobs are drawing a blank too because I am overqualified yet still too inexperienced in that field to compete well against other candidates.

I've been feeling incredibly depressed and lost because I just don't know where I fit any more. I know many postdocs reach this point. A lot of my friends have gone to train as teachers but that has never interested me. All I really want to know is what other options are available. In my experience a lot of postdocs seem to drop off the radar when they leave academia. What do they end up doing outside of scientific jobs?

A

Hi Midlife