university league tables

Z

does anyone think that the university league tables matter?
i try not to pay much attention to it as i feel a degree is a degree and so forth i wonder though if employers pay any attention to it as even if they did its not like its something most employers would no off by heart

your thoughts please?

C

Hmmmm. I think the position of a university on the league table might have a bearing on some jobs more than others: like academia for example. Or with funding institutions. I don't think it matters too much. That said, the institution I did my MA (and do my PhD) at is about 30/40 places higher on the league table than my undergraduate. And I would be dishonest if I said that didn't matter to me....

C

...but then comparing a small rural humantities university with 1,500 students to a large metropolitan university with 36,000 students is like comparing chalk and cheese.

M

In my opinion, yes, it matters a lot. These rankings usually take into account undergrad-relevant things such as %1st/2:1s, teaching staff:student ratios, and other more postgrad relevant things, such as library spend, research funding etc. However, while there will always be universities which are dire but have a couple of very good depts, and vice versa, I think the general tread is that better universities are higher up. It's no coincidence that Oxbridge and the Russell Group universities are at the top end, while those which are easy to get into, provide more vocational qualifications, and generally have lower entry requirements, are nearer the bottom.

That said, I think the Shanghai-Jiaotong ranking provides a better idea of research-only ranking, maybe more for sciences than arts (it allegedly weights science research above arts research).

B

When you get to PhD level ... I think it's the (academic) reputation of your supervisor that matters far more than the uni.