upcoming interview!

R

Hi everyone, I've been reading this forum for a while now but this is my first post. I have an interview for a PhD on Monday and I'm a bit nervous and confused because I'm not sure what to expect. I've applied for a studentship at the same university where I am currently doing my MSc and the supervisor is my current MSc tutor and is supervising my dissertation. I mentioned a while ago that I would be interested in doing a PhD and when this project had been arranged and the funding was secure he basically told me to apply for it. So I did and got offered the interview. He also told me that the work experience placement I am doing this summer (also whilst trying to write a dissertation - not good for stress levels) would be very helpful because it means that I wouldn't have to spend as long learning to program the model that I will be using because I'm currently working with something similar and therefore would be able to get into the interesting research part sooner rather than faffing around learning how to use the computer.

The main reason I'm feeling like this is because I will be interviewed by someone I have known for the last year and I have no idea what level of formality to expect because so far the relationship has been fairly relaxed. Also in the email from the admissions department inviting me to the interview said that if I am able to stay on campus for a while after the interview (it's in the morning) there would the opportunity to go to lunch with Dr XXX. So without sounding too cocky I think I may stand a chance of getting this but I don't want to get my hopes up too much.

Sorry for rambling on a bit, I was just wondering if anybody else had been in a similar situation e.g. staying with same supervisor and being interviewed by them.

Thanks

P