Viva confusion

L

I'm an EdD student and had my viva on Friday. My 2 supervisors were very confident that I had produced an excellent thesis, my main supervisor said he'd be 'flabbergasted' if I didn't pass. The examiners did not share this opinion, the viva was very hard work and the examiners took a very conservative view of my thesis which was trying something different. I've now been given a year to incorporate changes based on the examiners view. If the thesis was bad I could understand and accept this decision, yet 2 highly rated supervisors told me the thesis was a very good piece of work. How can this happen? How can supervisors and examiners have two very different views of a thesis and how are we as students meant to deal with this. Based on my supervisors' opinions I couldn't have done anything more yet I didn't pass?!! My supervisor was very apologetic but I have a hard year of rewriting ahead of me and I've lost confidence in the system. Has anyone else experienced this?

S

Hi Lloyd,
I'm really sorry to hear about your troubles, it sounds awful. To me it sounds either like you have two awful supervisors who didn't know what they were doing or else didn't bother to look at your work, or your examiners had preconceived ideas about your subject and were not willing to change their minds. Where were most of the changes they requested? I was wondering whether they had problems with your methodology which meant they couldnt accept your findings, or whether they accepted your approach but didnt agree with your interpretations? Either way you should probably talk to your sup about appealing the decision.

S