Viva in a week.....freaking out

L

Dear all

I am a completing PhD student and is awaiting my viva next week. I am extremely worried and stressed about it. I have an internal examiner who is not in my field but has experience in conducting vivas, and my external is rather new to the game and she said she has little experience (I have referenced some of her papers in my thesis). Both of my supervisors believe that my thesis is excellent, and I managed to have 4 publications (3 original papers + 1 review) out of my degree. However I am still feeling super stressed and restless for the following reasons:

1) I may have put too many references in the introduction chapter, and I'm finding it extremely hard to remember them. I have also put 2-3 wrong references in this section, albeit on sections which have nothing to do with my results.

2) I'm finding little mistakes here and there throughout the thesis.

May someone provide some pointers as to how I can prepare myself better. Right now I am just going through my results chapters sentence by sentence, reading up on examiners' papers and trying to see what questions they will ask. I am having a mock viva with my sup later this week....

Is there anything else that I can do to prepare for my viva....thank you so much?

S

It's a good idea to write a list of all the mistakes you notice - then if they come up during the viva you can point out that you are already aware of them (but don't reveal your list to the examiners until they ask!). Having said that, if they are just minor formatting errors/typos they probably won't mention them in the actual viva, they will just be given to you as corrections. This will also save you loads of time post-viva when doing corrections as you can whizz through your list really quickly.