What a Drag it is Getting Old

O

Its an ageing thing and soooooooooooooooo annoying, not that ageing is annoying, but not being able to see!!!! I am short sighted, so I can still see things without my glasses without having to extend my arm ( that classic move) but I DO have that problem when I am in my regular glasses and I brilliantly left my new reading glasses in the US ( was it a subconcious move to reject having to use them???) that would have let me read up close without problems. So I have to take off my glasses to read hard copy and on for the computer. Grumble.

N

Hi Olivia

Are you not entitled to NHS support and all? As a student I would expect you are, in which case I assume you could get new glasses for a fair price ( - I'm not 100% sure though). If I were you I'd have my glasses sent over from the US though... happened to me once a few years ago, and when it came to reading for/writing my dissertation, I thought I was going to die after a few days... Had to call and beg my mum to send them asap, I was getting terrible headaches...

S

Unfortunatly, as a fellow glasses wearer, I have found that despite being a student we are not entitled to any support from the NHS. You can only get free glasses up to the age of 19. In specsavers you can get a certain percentage off as a student, but thats about it.

O

I thought about having them sent over, but I was afraid they might get crushed or something...I had just got them before I left! and was always losing them and forgetting them, and found them a nuisance--too hard to have two pairs of glasses ( and DO NOT say the bifocal word...no no no).

Most of the time off the computer I do not wear them, am used to just being short sighted....its how I have gone through life.

O

I am in deep denial about the eye changes anyway, so I will probably just grumble and keep on as I am at least for awhile....

J