What am I doing?

A

Hello All,

This is about the 5th time i've started writing a post, but not finished it because I felt like an idiot. anyway, this time I am going to post it.

I am about 10 weeks into my PhD and don't really seem to know what I'm doing. I keep asking people in the department if this is normal and they keep saying yes, it's fine, but im not sure whether they are just being nice. I did my undergrad (BSc) in Physics at a top 10 uni and I have to admit that I was a little lazy, didn't do much work at all but managed to get a good degree and went straight to the PhD telling myself that I was capable, just lazy. I like totally emersing myself in a project and hate exams so it's perfect really. The first month went fine, but now i seem to have lost a bit of momentum, my supervisors have left me to my own devices recently and Im slipping back into lazy mode.

So my question is: Honestly, is this normal and what can I do to prevent it?

Thank you very much for reading and I apologise if you have read this post a billion times before.

P

Hi,
Just a quick one....
1. I think it's normal to feel like you're treading water until well into your first year.
2. Are you actually being lazy? It's worth asking yourself this, as I'm constantly convinced that everyone else is doing more work than I am.
3. It might be worth setting up a supervision to enable you to chat to your supervisors about your concerns about both of your expectations meeting.
Sorry I couldn't be more helpful, I do think it's normal though!!

P

Absolutely, it is normal. Check out this essay by Martin A. Schwartz on "The importance of stupidity in scientific research"

http://jcs.biologists.org/cgi/content/full/121/11/1771

It might not necessarily give you what you wanted to hear/read, but it might help you to understand where you are at!

S

Quote From anberlin:

Thank you very much for reading and I apologise if you have read this post a billion times before.