What's your take?

L

Hi all,

since I am now about to transition from working in industry to being a PhD student, I was wondering what I should be expecting.
How is everyone faring on their studentship money? Is it enough to get by?
Is it possible to finish in 3 years or am I looking at an extra year for the writing up etc?
Any advice you can give to someone just starting out?
How many hours do you put in each week?

xx

C

======= Date Modified 26 May 2011 09:10:46 =======
======= Date Modified 26 May 2011 09:09:47 =======
Welcome and congratulations!

Yes it is possible to do it under 3 years. This varies a lot depending on the fields. According to some US stats (http://www.phdcompletion.org/) which I accessed through a secondary source the humanities and social sciences fields are the ones with the longest completion - the humanities completion rate is of only 3% in 3 years time, and social science is 7%. However, I feel this numbers could be very different if in general guidance was of higher quality. In general I believe that completions under 3 years leave much to be desired as students are most likely missing the opportunity to put in a little more time on learning and developing research skills, time which later on will be scarce. So sooner is not necessarily better. Also, very pragmatic students (although a time comes we all must be pragmatic) are also logically likely to be in the 3 years group students. But pragmatism, is to some extent at odds with a inquisitive knowledge hungry mind.

That being said I believe, too much is assumed of the doctoral student, that may not be true. Personally I scorned about "PhD guidance books". My mistake! My advice would be buy or request from your institutions' library some good books, on the following categories:
* General (Doing a PhD, PhD Project Management)
* Literature Review
* Dissertation writing