What to say at interview - Please help!

M

For those of you who haven't read my posts in the past, here's a little summary of my situtation...

I got a BSc in Pharmacology in 2005. I then did worked as a research technician in a respiratory cell biology group from September 2005 to June 2006, in the lab in Sheffield where I did my final year research project.

I was offered a PhD in Bristol in January 2006, but rejected it. Then I was offered one in Sheffield in April 2006, and accepted. However, over last summer, I was somewhat ill (depression) and wasn't in any decent state to start the PhD in September. Therefore, I withdrew at rather late notice. I am now doing tem-p office work in my home town (I've applied for science jobs but they're either too far away or I'm "over-qualified").

I am now looking to apply for more PhDs, but am worried about what to say at interview concerning my move from science to temp work. I feel I have three options:

Cont...

M

cont...

1. Say nothing and hope the question doesn't come up.

2. Admit it all, be honest, but this would probably put me out of the running immediately..

3. Say nothing, but be prepared for a question about it if and when it is asked. The problem then is - what do I say?

I could be totally honest about it if asked.
I could say I was ill but give no more details.
I could say that I didn't find a PhD that I was interested in, although one supervisor I want to work with knows that I accepted one.

I want to strike the best medium between telling the truth and not ruling myself out of getting the place. So, any ideas?

J

I don't think telling the truth would rule you out: at least two very sucessful professors that I know have suffered with mental breakdown (temporarily, fortunately), and have overcome it to continue their careers. Its more common than many people think (take Stephen Fry)