where does all the time go?

P

Is it just me or does time just seem to fly by? I feel like I've achieved very little although I've been doing my PhD for 5 months. Does anyone have any time management tips?? Or is anyone else going through the same?
:-s

P

Hey you!

A good idea is to sit with pen and paper and meticulously write down everything you have or have not achieved over these days. Like : XXX number of words written. YYY read by sup. Or task B not done.

You ll feel loads better after that!

S

i feel exactly the same, i'm 5 months in too. haven't achieved anything of note yet other than lots of reading and learning a couple of new practical techniques. however i have been assured (by my sups and by other phd students here on the forum and elsewhere) that this is perfectly normal. only now do i feel i have a clear (ish!) idea of the initial direction i want my project to take, and i am just starting some actual 'work' that will produce results.

as for time management, i personally think its quite difficult at the beginning to manage your time super-effectively, as there seem to be so many things you need to do. i am in the sciences, so for me i have both lab-based and computer-based things to be doing, hundreds of articles to read, loads of meetings/lectures i have to attend, and i have been away to a conference. it feels like just as i get stuck into one thing, something else comes along to distract me from it. however, as i said before this seems to be perfectly normal and hopefully things will calm down a bit soon and i can focus a bit more on the important things.

having said all that, i am quite enjoying the chaotic nature of things at the moment as i am certainly never bored! although i am looking forward to really making a start on my phd work and achieving something that will actually be used in my thesis at the end of all this!

i'm sure everyone feels the same at this point so try not to worry! good luck
:-)

P