wht r they lookin fr??

K

im a Post grad in Human Genetics frm india,with a sensible academic scores,
1.I wish to knw if i want to switch frm human genetics to developmental biology for my PhD application& i manage to prepare a sensible research Proposal wht be my chance of bein taken up
2.Also does a sensible post grad from india holds the same status as from some other part of the globe.

M

Just a quick piece of advice first - try not to use the text message language as it can annoy some people on here.

The answers...

1. I would expect that you'd be ok, although you could check with potential supervisors first. Seeing as there aren't many, degrees in developmental biology around, I would expect most PhD student in this field to have some other background. While a degree in physiology, anatomy, or other similar biomedical science field might be more appropriate, you probaboyl have the necessary lab skills and understanding to be able to switch. But probably best to check to make sure.

2. I don't know about this for certain, but I would hope and expect that, in the UK, the country of origin of a post grad is irrelevant when it comes to status. As long you you can communicate effectively in English, you shouldn't be treated any differently to any other post grad - in fact, many departments have a large percentage of students from other parts of the globe.

S

In answer to your first question I don't think you would have too many problems. I did a degree in Molecular and Cellular Biology, worked for a year in a molecular/microbiology lab then started a PhD in Developmental Biology. About half of my final year modules were in developmental biology however so I not sure how I would have got on if I hadn't taken those courses.

Did you do any development modules in your degree?

H