Why do academics gossip so much?...

L

I don't know if this is very common, but I work as a TA for 3 subjects so I come in regular contact with other lecturers/proffesors as well as my supervisors. I have noticed that those people love to make fun of their students. This ranges from undergrads to PhDs. Most common is making fun of their poor academic performance followed by students who are overly clingy, paster them etc. Now quite a few do this openly in front of me and expect me to join in and have a laugh with them (which I uneasily do). What's even worse is when I see them interacting with those students afterwards and they are all extremly nice and pleasant.

Of course now that I'm aware of this I can't stop thinking that I am made fun of in the same way when my back is turned. I have had an especially close relationship with my principal supervisor and now feel like I was wrong to trust her with some personal details of my life. I can almost "see" her making fun of me with her collegaues, but there is no way to know for sure.

L

Then there is my recent poor viva performance and I constantly worry whats been said about it behind my back. I mean I really thought that academics have beeter things to do.

I guess I'm wondering if this happens at other universities/departments and how do I know when I'm being paranoid and when I'm just being perceptive/realistic? I actually worry about this quite a lot.

R

lostinoz,
I would say this is actually quite common in academic circles. Ive experienced this in my old department and it is not very nice. My old supervisor does nothing but slag off his staff and students. Ive never really understood what he stands to gain by doing this.

I think some academics dervive a certain amount of satisfaction in belittling students that they feel arn't up to scratch and they do this because they can get away with it. It makes them feel big and important.