Wisdom tooth removed - time off?

Hi everyone,

I've just had abadly impacted wisdom tooth removed, and it wasn't the most pleasant operation ever - I've had a tooth pulled before, but (without wanting to give you details) this wasn't as straightforward, even according to the consultant, and it took about 45 mins. This was three days ago and I'm in a lot of pain with bad swelling.

Anyway, my question is, has anyone else had anything like this, and how much time did you have off? I'm in my second year, and have only been off sick once before (a week in January this year with tonsilitis). My parents came to my city for the op, but I'm tempted to go home as I can't really eat anything, walk far, etc etc, but then I'm feeling really guilty about taking time off.

Any opinions? Much appreciated...

sounds painful. I'd go home to your parents, its times like these where you need someone who's going to mollycoddle you a bit :-)

You could just try and do an hour or 2 or reading or something per day so the time isn't completely taken off?

Well, I have loads of papers with me so I can do a bit... I get told I'm a workaholic by most of my peers, but I suppose that's just me!

A

Let your parents administer some TLC for a couple of days and try to dettach. Chronic pain is really wearing but then when it's gone you are likely to feel really invigorated and ready to jump back to work. Anything you read while in a lot of pain is not really likely to 'go in' is it so I prescribe some home cooking (when you can eat) and some Saturday night TV - though that's pretty rubbish during the summer so a bunch of DVDs.

K