Withdrawn from masters course want to do PhD but worried - Help!

I

As the title says I withdrew on Friday from a masters in Public Health and social change. I graduated with a 1st class honours in July this year and the masters seemed like the next step - but I didn't like the group or the teaching, it felt just like the undergraduate course so I opted out.

I did look into the PhD route over the summer and I even got so far as to find my main supervisor but then I choose the easy route of the masters course. Bad move!

I need advice and lots of it!

1) Can you register at anytime for a PhD? or I
2) If I self funded for the first year how likely would I be to get funding for years 2/3?
3) Have I made a really stupid move?! Does a masters really equip you more for PhD study?

Thanks

C

iamlittlemiss, I am in a different field, so I am not sure that my opinion worth much. However, in my Uni there are two yearly intake for PhDs, in October and January. Getting funding is extremely competitive, but there is a good possibility to get it in your 2nd year, when your project is more defined and you can show some results. I just got the AHRC and I have just started the 2nd year. I don't think that you made a stupid move, but it was a bit rushed. You cannot understand the potential of a course from the first three weeks. I personally could not have done what I am doing now without the training I got through the Masters. It was hard work, sometimes boring, but extremely valuable. I am not aware of your personal situation/ previous training, so I cannot give recommendations. Did your prospective supervisor suggest anything in this respect? I think that it would have been a good idea to discuss this issue with him/her first.

A