Working times and earning extra money

H

Hi, I'm new to all this so please forgive the 2 ridiculous questions..! Having worked for the NHS for the last 5 years to a set working time, (question 1) what hours do PhD students typically work and (question 2) anyone know any good ideas for a little extra money earning in an exclusively postgrad college? My PhD doesn't start 'til Nov hence I'm making early plans to minimise the shock to my wallet!

A

I worked during my first year as a personal assistant to students with disabilities - maybe there is such a scheme in your place, teh work was not demanding, most of the time I just took notes,and the hours were flexible.tutoring seems to be quite a popular option, but I never looked into it.Good luck!

S

i think there are no typical working hours for PhD students in general, though there might be at your department.
as you won't have the chance to teach undergraduate classes, it being postgraduate only, you might want to look into tutoring for the open university.
you could also do admin work for any of your colleges' departments.
from this term onwards, i'm going to be doing 2h/week of "CV checking" for our careers service.
do you know any foreign languages? you could apply to your language centre.
build on your strenghts: do you always proof-read all your friends work because you are so good at it? offer this as a service to international students.
let everyone know that you are looking for sources of income. there might be many odd little jobs cropping up, like, typing data, looking after experiments, collect photocopies of articles, administrate the online learning environment... but only if people know you're looking for that kind of stuff!

D