Worried about supervisor/publications

S

Hi,

Sorry in advance for the moan.. I am in my 3rd year of my PhD - I always feel bad for moaning about my supervisor as he is really nice and friendly, however when I have a meeting with him to discuss my latest results he never remembers the things i told him in the last meeting. In our group meetings he'll be really surprised at new data that i showed him 2 weeks before. I've had a few major problems with my work recently that looking back with hindsight I think he should have been able to foresee (only because he had a previous student doing something similar). Feel very demotivated about it all, I have to repeat all the work i've done over the past 6 months because of this and do it slightly different! Just really annoyed by this!
should I say anything to him about how i'm not very happy with my work recently?
Also I wrote a draft of a paper that I don't think will ever get submitted 9 months ago, he's always saying things like "this work will be a paper" but these papers never seem to get written! I feel like he says things just to keep me happy and to stop me from pestering him about publications.

Does it matter for my future job prospects if I don't get any publications during my PhD if I want to PostDoc after?

Thanks

I got to this stage - you suddenly realise your sup isn't some god of academia, but is actually pretty flawed!

You don't have to have publications, but it helps (and will vary by discipline). realistically though, if you want papers, YOU need to write them, you'll be first author, so you write them, send him a draft and say "I'm going to submit to XYZ journal, can I have your thoughts on this by [date] otherwise I'll assume its fine to be submitted"