Writing my own reference?

N

Hi all. I'd like to apply for a scholarship of a Spanish foundation in order to study in the UK and of course I have to include two academic references. This week I wrote to the coordinator of the MA I studied to get one of them and she asked me to write my own reference letter and then submit it to her so that she can sign it.

It's not the first time I'm told to do so by ex teachers/ employers. In the other cases, I simply told the person which aspects did he need to emphasize and then he wrote the letter according to my guidelines. Of course, I never asked anybody to write false or inexact information about me (I think they wouldn't sign it anyway), and this time won't be different. But I really don't like to boast and I think I won't be very comfortable writing such a letter.

Have you faced such a situation? What did you do?

Thanks and regards,

Eva

S

tell them to stop being so bloody lazy and do it themselves. you need a reference, it isn't like you are asking for an essay to be written about you, so it shouldn't take them very long at all.

J

I agree with stu (which makes a change). Tell her to write it herself. Explain you feel uncomfortable about writing it. Besides people quite often don't see their own good points and/or flaws.

S

do you really dislike me THAT much jen? I'm not that bad surely?

J

no stu I don't dislike you that much. Some things I do agree with you on but other times I think you talk rubbish. I like that your not afraid to say what u think even if it gets other ppls backs up e.g. mine. I can't stand fence sitters

S

me speaking rubbish is an opinion of yours. even if you don't agree, sometimes what i say may be controversal, but i often have a point

J

yes i know its an opinion. If read what I said carefully you will see I said I THINK you talk rubbish hence indicating that this is my opinion.

S

no need to get so defensive. that time of the month?

S

yeah, your right mia.

N

Hi,