Writing style/level for PhD?

M

This might turn out as one of those questions like 'how long is a piece of string', and it's also quite hard to explain what I'm asking, but I will try!
I am in social sciences and just want to know what sort of audience you should adapt your writing style to. Obviously I understand I am writing a postgrad level piece and all that, but what 'level' is the writing supposed to be aimed at? When I was an undergrad I was told essays should be aimed at an a-level understanding (don't know whether that's right or wrong, but that's just an example).
Also, how do you know when to start explaining the terms you use, what sort of level of understanding do you assume your reader will have? (your superviser/examiners etc. are probably the only ones who will ever read the whole thing, but, how much do you assume a reader will know?). Sorry if this is confusing!

B

I always think that you should write in a style so anybody (i.e. an adult) can pick up your thesis and understand what your work is going on about (or be able to follow the general gist if they aren't used to reading academic texts). Some might disagree, but ... I think it's far more of an art (and difficult) to be able to explain complex theories SIMPLY (without losing the essense of the arguments) rather than using lots of terminology that no-one understands (and don't assume your examiners will understand all the terminology/theories that come up in your work).

Just write ... and your supervisor should advise you accordingly.

P

I got told by my supervisor that my writing style is way too informal.. he was totally correct and even now, when composing emails I have to try and 'think professionally' (else all emails end up with smiley faces and kisses in them :-S)

Have you read 'The Elements of Style?' - It's a pretty good book for understanding how to put across ideas and regardless of what your research area is.. you might find it helps in terms of 'good english'

X